New Hampshire Has A Lost Town Most People Don’t Know About

New Hampshire is a state of 10 counties, 221 towns, 13 cities, and 25 unincorporated territories. In its earlier years, however, it was also home to several smaller villages and logging industry “company towns” that have been lost to history.

The village of Zealand was created in 1875 as a result of the 19th-century logging boom in the White Mountains. The village was fully formed with its own post office, school, store, two railroad stations, and housing for the logging workers and their families. The population varied, but between 80-250 men were employed to work in the forest.

The Zealand area is most easily explored today by hiking Zealand Trail from the end of Zealand Rd. For more information, visit the U.S. Forest Service website.

Address: Carroll, NH, USA

OnlyInYourState may earn compensation through affiliate links in this article.