The New Law In Oklahoma That Will Affect All Left Lane Drivers
If you’re fed up with left lane drivers bogging down the passing lane, you’ll be glad to know a new law just passed in Oklahoma that targets these annoying ‘slowpoke’ drivers. Get all the details below so you’re not caught with the hefty fine if you break this new law.
If you're from Oklahoma, or if you'll be driving through our state later this year, there's a new driving law that was passed that you will want to know about.
Come November, drivers can't be in the left lane for ANY reason but to pass another vehicle. Can we all shout "Hooray!"?
The current law states that you can drive in the left lane unless another driver pulls up behind you. But that doesn't really happen much, so with the increase of road rage incidents, the lawmakers decided it was time for a change.
So, what's the penalty going to be for those that don't obey the new law? The first is the embarrassment of those trailing lights flashing behind you and the loud sirens blaring in your ears.
But the real pain will come from the hefty fine. Drivers who break the law could incur up to a $235 fine.
The new law will make roads safer and reduce road rage incidents and accidents. New signs are going up around the state to remind drivers not to impede the left lane. Go ahead and start practicing the new law now, so you're not one of those drivers paying out $235 dollars when the new law goes into effect.
What do you think about this new law? Share your comments with us.
OnlyInYourState may earn compensation through affiliate links in this article. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.