The Fascinating Reason Behind The Diamond-Shaped Design On The Cape Lookout Lighthouse In North Carolina

North Carolina’s gorgeous coastline features seven standing lighthouses. Can you name them all? What about naming them in their order from north to south? Try: Currituck, Bodie Island, Cape Hatteras, Ocracoke, Cape Lookout, Old Baldy (Bald Head Island), and Oak Island. Most lighthouses were given their own day mark, so that approaching vessels could determine which lighthouse was in view.

We’re aware that these uncertain times are limiting many aspects of life as we all practice social and physical distancing. While we’re continuing to feature destinations that make our state wonderful, we don’t expect or encourage you to go check them out immediately. We believe that supporting local attractions is important now more than ever and we hope our articles inspire your future adventures! And on that note, please nominate your favorite local business that could use some love right now:

Learn more from this link on the National Park Service website. And for another fascinating window into the past, keep reading here to learn about the nearby historical village of Portsmouth!

Address: Harkers Island, NC 28531, USA