The Forgotten New Jersey Town That You’ve Probably Passed Through Without Knowing

New Jersey is currently home to 565 municipalities, 254 boroughs, 52 cities, 15 towns, 241 townships, and 3 villages. In 1964, there was another municipality on that list…a borough in Ocean County. Unlike South Cape May, it didn’t just sink into the sea (learn more about that by clicking here). This town was dissolved, but you’ve probably passed through it without realizing.

We’re aware that these uncertain times are limiting many aspects of life as we all practice social and physical distancing. While we’re continuing to feature destinations that make our state wonderful, we don’t expect or encourage you to go check them out immediately. We believe that supporting local attractions is important now more than ever and we hope our articles inspire your future adventures! And on that note, please nominate your favorite local business that could use some love right now:

If you’ve ever been to Island Beach State Park, then you’ve been to what’s left of the Borough of Island Beach!