Washington’s Manresa Castle is a charming structure located in the Victorian seaport city of Port Townsend. With reasonable rates for the rooms and suites, an onsite restaurant and lounge and plenty of space for meetings and weddings, it seems like a dream come true. But guests at this castle are likely to get more than they bargained for… it’s one of Washington’s most haunted buildings.
The castle was built in 1892 and served as the home of Charles and Kate Eisenbeis. Charles was a prominent member of the local business community and eventually became the first mayor. He died in 1902, and when Kate remarried a few years later, it remained empty for 20 years.
In 1927, the castle was purchased by the Jesuits who turned it into a training college and renamed it Manresa Hall. They built a large new wing to house the chapel and sleeping rooms, and they also added an elevator. The Jesuits left in 1968, and that’s when the building was converted into a hotel.
Rumor has it that a monk hung himself in the attic during the Jesuits’ time there, which would explain the mysterious footsteps often heard in the attic when no one is there. There is also a story of a young lady who threw herself out the window of Room 306, when she heard her beloved, who had been at war, had been killed. The most paranormal activity seems to occur in rooms 302, 304 and 306.
The old chapel is now a cafe that serves guests a light breakfast in the morning. Occasionally drinking glasses will explode for no reason and empty glasses will turn upside down. A drinking glass apparently even exploded in a server’s hand one morning.
Doors open and close by themselves throughout the castle. Lights seem to have a mind of their own. It was featured on the Travel Channel’s “Ghost Adventures” last year, and the team definitely experienced some paranormal activity.